The Moment is Gone but Here Are My Two Cents

The moment has passed and honestly I’m exhausted but I thought I’d weigh in.

I really, really do not have any hard feelings against Paris Hilton. I’d probably find her boring to hang out with. I’d probably feel poor and fat next to her and that’s… about all I can think of. Yawn. Okay.

If she went to jail that’s fine with me. I’m not rah-rah into it, and I’m not thinking anything unjust has happened.

I am failing to understand the pack mentality, laugh in her face, violent applause of the MTV movie awards, nor do I care to.

All I know is that I found out she lived close to my neighborhood when I tried to drive to yoga on Friday but was interrupted by cops and mobs of people and helicopters in mid-air causing traffic delays because Paris was being hauled back to jail. Our yoga teacher was pissed, as pissed as a yoga teacher can be and we did an extra meditation up front to get out our resentments at paparazzi helicopters. And yet that still makes me feel like an L.A. asshole even though I’m mostly innocent.

I think this country is seriously angry and it’s directed in all the wrong places, like those spastic Wet Willy or whatever the fuck they are called kids sprinklers that are meant for running through in the summer.

As the daughter of a greenskeeper, we were not allowed to have those, or Slip N Slides because as my dad said, it oversatures the grass in random places with water and causes mud and the grass to die.

That’s how I feel about the distribution of our media. What we need is a good, old-fashioned sprinkler, like the one I had growing up, like the one in the opening shot of Caddyshack that beats so perfectly to Kenny Loggins’ “I’m Allright.” It waters the grass perfectly and covers all areas and you can get some relief if you run through but be careful, get too close to the spiggot and you’ll get a bruise on your leg.

But this country is a bunch of wet willy’s, all muddy and drowning in their anger. We’re angry at the wrong people. I mean, when I say “we” I mean “you.” And when I say “you” I mean the idiots out there that we all assuredly can assume we are not.

I highly recommend after you buy my CD that you buy these two books – I’m enjoying them both immensely. I’m sure you’ve been bombarded with hearing about them lately but they really are great.

Armed Madhouse – by Greg Palast
Assault on Reason – Al Gore

Also – I finally removed my Kerry Edwards bumper sticker. After hearing an interview with Kerry where he refused to discuss the 2004 election and how it’s coming to light that it was manipulated by caging lists – which is why Gonzales will get a no confidence vote tomorrow – I don’t respect him for answering, “I’m not looking backwards. I’m looking forwards.”

Beep. WRONG. Dumb-ass. You HAVE to look backwards. You should have fought harder. Something was up and I suspected it then when the exit polls didn’t match the voting results.

So I replaced the bumper sticker with a Morrissey sticker and a UCB comedy sticker. I can believe in that!

p.s. If any one wants to sign this gas price gouging petition before congress’s vote please do:

Subject: Help stop summer gas price gouging

Hi,

Can you face another summer where a day trip to the lake or the beach costs you an arm and a leg?

It’s shaping up to be just that if we don’t ask Congress to stand up to Big Oil now.

But there is a bill in the House this week that could make gas price gouging a federal crime, so we don’t pay more while the oil companies rake in record profits.

I signed a petition to urge my representative to pass this bill this week — can you join me at the link below?

http://pol.moveon.org/stoppricegouging/

2 responses to “The Moment is Gone but Here Are My Two Cents

  1. You’re not worried about fairness in the enforcement of the law?

    The unequal distribution of ‘justice’ in this country is a huge issue if you should ever find yourself in the unfortunate position of being stuck there. I hope it never happens to you, but most of us would not have been able to afford the legal counsel to have our initial DUI reduced to reckless driving in the first place–especially when we had an obtained BAC of .08. But, assuming Jane Doe somehow magically got her charges reduced under the same circumstances, you can bet she would have been thrown in the slammer (general prison population mind you, not the ‘celebrity’ wing) the FIRST time had she been caught flouting the law and her probation. But not Hilton. She had to sign a piece of paper indicating that she UNDERSTOOD that she was violating the privilege of her initial parole. Sheesh.

    Average people’s lives are ruined and disrupted all the time from DUI and other substance issues. People lose houses, jobs, children, etc. from such events. If you want to argue that the legal system is broken and therefore she should not have to suffer, fine. Then change it for everyone; don’t just continue the injustice to accommodate the already advantaged in our society.

    P.S. I came to this site because I liked you on TSOYA! Nice job.

    Still friends? /smile/

  2. I think I wrote it wrong.

    I’m absolutely worried about fairness in law enforcement. Of course.

    I think what I meant was that I’m not outraged by her sentence in terms of it being too long or too short. I’m not thinking that she was unfairly put in jail because she was a celebrity – in case anyone thought I was “defending” her and assuming that was why.

    Still friends!

Leave a Reply

