I Will Vote Despite PMS

November 6th, 2006

If you people need further proof that PMS exists I present the crying jag that I just finished.

My boyfriend left the house early this morning and I asked him to investigate where our polling place was. He just called me and gave me the 411 on what his voting experience was like today.

He joviall-y said, “You’ll enjoy the teenaged checker.”

“Why?” I joked. “Does she have big boobs?”

“No.” He said. “He’s this kid with a big gold chain and an I voted sticker on his forehead.”

I got so choked up I couldn’t speak. I didn’t want Neil to know that I was about to break down in sobs.

“Jen? Hello?”

Then I realized that is what boyfriends are for, as opposed to just dudes you date. It’s okay. I said, “I’m sorry. I’m so touched. I’m crying.”

Neil laughed uncontrollably. “What? He has a sticker on his forehead.”

I said, “I know. But I’m so happy young people in L.A. are involved. I feel so much hope.” Sob. Sob. Sob.

“Neil…I think I have PMS.”

“You think?”

The crying ended when the thought that the kid might be a Republican dawned on me.

I’m off to vote. See ya later Governator.

Leave a Reply

