I heard something depressing

Yesterday this car comes reeling into the 3rd level of the underground parking lot at work. This person is blaring The Beatles “I’m Only Sleeping”

You know the one:

Everybody seems to think I’m lazy
I don’t mind, I think they’re crazy
Running everywhere at such a speed
Till they find, there’s no need

Please don’t spoil my day
I’m miles away
And after all
I’m only sleeping

Keeping an eye on the world going by my window
Taking my time

So he’s playing this sooo loudly and their windows are up and it sounds like the actual Beatles are singing next to me with amplifiers up to my ears.

I know where this fellow worker is at. He just needed the perfect song in the morning. And the radio doesn’t come in underground so I know that he chose this song. He intended to show his badge to security, wait for the little yellow bar to lift up, all while listening to this specific Beatles song.

I love this song and it made me smile hearing it while I was breathing in the exhaust and walking in the gray garage towards the flourescent lit hallway where the elevators are.

I watch him park and he has this little grin on his face and he sits for a second and contemplates waiting in his car to hear the song out. And he sits and listens and turns it off in the middle of the song anyway. It’s dead silent. He gets out of his car and his door slams really hard and echoes. He clears his throat. He sighs and moans. And starts walking the reluctant walk to the elevator. It’s totally quiet and I can just hear his dress shoes, clip, clop.

I wanted to hug him. I don’t even care at that point if he’s a Republican or a Carlos Mencia fan. He was so human just then I wanted to give him a medal. “Good job, sir. I know it sucks to get out of the car.”

One response to “I heard something depressing

  1. did you know you’re the top google link for “something depressing”?

Leave a Reply

