Instant Karma of the Technological Kind

Whoa! Here I am today bitching like Andy Rooney about how I miss the romanticism of a pre-internet, cellphone, Hummer world and then I step into the elevator in my building……..

I am wearing my ipod because I was listening to The Guys With Feelings interview Todd Glass on their awesome podcast, while walking through the Century City farmer’s market thingy when I went back into my highrise and kept the ipod on. I thought to myself, “Someone in the elevator is going to talk to me. Even though this is on.”

Sure enough. I’m in the vator…a woman, not much older than me, probably my age, but looks older, turned to me. Her lips were moving. I took out my earbud. “What?”

She said, “Is that like an Ipod?” I said, “It is an Ipod. But I put this rubber cover on it.”

I thought she meant “That looks like an Ipod but why the rubber?”

She looked at me like I was a freak and said, “Oh. Okay. I don’t know what that is.”

“What what is?”

She laughed. “That cover thingy or the Ipod. Is that like, good?”

“Yes. I like it. I….”

I was about to say that I like podcasts and that’s mainly why I love my Ipod. And then I realized, she has no idea what the fuck any of this is.

She looked at me and said, “I can’t figure it out. But it’s good for teenagers and young people, like you! We didn’t have that stuff in my day.”

And she exited the elevator before I could yell, “I AM THIRTY TWO (okay not yet but in 6 weeks) YEARS OLD!”

I like the people think I’m younger than I am, but I only like it when casting people who care about such things think that. Otherwise it makes me feel stupid. Or like I don’t dress properly.

Anyway. They didn’t have Ipods in my day either. I didn’t even have a CD player until I was 18. I’ve never burned anyone music on a CD. I don’t know how. There are so many gaps in my knowledge of things but things keep changing so fast. I just got my ipod six months ago.

But I realized, I probably still know more than the average person who refuses to understand what an ipod is. Grrrr. So weird that this went down today. I’m not even a good ludite.

Leave a Reply

