Happy Birthday, Love Jenzart

Today is Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s 250th birthday!

When I was in 4th grade I was in my third year of private piano lessons and playing Beethoven Sonatina’s (easier but you needed to be skillful) stuff. But at school to diversify us kids, they forced us to take music class, which insulted me. We learned ‘piano’ on shitty keyboards that didn’t even have as many keys as a real piano. We learned to toot on our recorders. I kept telling the teacher that this was beneath me and I should be allowed to go to the music hall and play the real baby grande in my spare time.

“No No No!” was always the answer! You must compromise and act as mediocre as the rest of the snot-nosed jock children.

So when our school had a recital, I was going to be forced to play a one handed number on a keyboard. I said, ‘I can play a Mozart piece on a real piano.’ So I made Mrs. Beane the prune faced teacher (She was only 35 at the time. How weird!) wheel the upright piano down the hall.

I figured that I’d better show some respect on this day so I also wrote a 5 page bio of mozart for the teacher and came to school dressed as him….in the best outfit I could put together. I wore a wig, not quite that Victorian-esque but a wig and put baby powder in it to make it look dusty and powdered.

I crowned myself “Jenzart” and played my song. Interestingly, I wasn’t too picked on that day because I think I backed it up with some two handed skills and some sharps and flats. When I showed people the sheet music, just jam packed with notes and such they were like “Whoah” . Their few dots on a line sheet music paled in comparison.

The next day, when I didn’t have my piano to show off with, the Jenzart comments came rolling in. But I didn’t care. I had Wolfgang on my side.

Happy Birthday, Buddy.

World Honors Mozart on 250th Birthday

By GEORGE JAHN, Associated Press Writer Fri Jan 27, 11:08 AM ET

SALZBURG, Austria – It’s a birthday bash being heard around the world. The cobblestoned and turreted city of Mozart’s birth was the focal point for Friday’s 250th anniversary celebrations — but the sound of the master’s music was being heard around the globe.

Too much hoopla? Consider this: Mozart wrote his first symphonies before turning 10 and his first significant opera at 12. He was instrumental in changing opera into the form we enjoy today.

He was prolific like few others, creating at least 626 musical works despite living to only age 35. Other greats like Beethoven and Wagner publicly recognized their debt to him.

But he had plenty of detractors in his day.

Leave a Reply

